Hide picture, bio and personal url for blocked users, even for logged in users
Is your feature request related to a problem? Please describe.
I was checking our visit logs on Matomo the other day and realised that a lot of visitors simply load spam user profile pages from our platforms. Probably to increase the traffic on these profile pages in order to increase the popularity of the links they put there.
Initially, I thought blocking these users would also make these profile pages unavailable. But it turns out that no, they are still perfectly available, the only change is that the page displays "Blocked user" as the username...
EDIT: I just realised a big nuance:
- user profiles are visible online, even for unregistered visitors
- blocked user profiles are actually not, which is a much better compromise!
I still think hiding the content on their profile to other registered users would be better but the problem seems less serious than I thought.
See an example here on try.decidim.org (External link) (External link).
Describe the solution you'd like
Profile pages should at a minimum be stripped from their content when the user is blocked. For many of these users, that's the main reason to block them.
In practice, that means hiding:
- their profile picture
- their bio
- the personal URL
Describe alternatives you've considered
An alternative could be to make the whole profile page impossible to reach. In that case, the user should be shown an error message, maybe something like "This user was blocked so their profile page is no longer available". In the case where they still have content on the platform, their username would be greyed out and non clickable.
Could this issue impact on users private data?
Report inappropriate content
Is this content inappropriate?